Chop-Chop

I donated my hair to Locks of Love. I’ve been thinking about doing this for quite some time now. But back in July, the last time I cut my hair, it still wasn’t long enough. They require at least 10 inches of hair in a ponytail, and I didn’t have that much then.

I went in today to get a much needed haircut. One, because my hair was way too long and getting in the way too often, and two, because I’ve been feeling like I need a change, a new look perhaps. While sitting in the chair, thinking about what I wanted done, I remembered I wanted to donate my hair, and asked the stylist if she thought I had enough. She measured, and voila! I had more than 10 inches to spare! :) So chop-chop, and in a few minutes my hair went from super-duper long, to a bob.

Here’s a before shot (with and without bangs):

Jennifer MataPhoto on 2013-08-14 at 12.32 #2

And then the after shot (excuse the gray hairs, I still need to color it):

IMG_5179 IMG_5182IMG_5185

And here’s the hair I am mailing to Locks of Hair, 12 inches! I hope it will make some kid very happy.

IMG_5186 IMG_5189

They accept less than 10 inches as well. They just don’t make wigs out of shorter strands of hair; they sell those. But the profits from selling the shorter strands finance the making of the wigs with the longer ones, so if you just want to chop off 5 or 6 inches and not 10, you can contribute with those too.

I feel weird with short hair. I haven’t had short hair since 1996, when on a limb, I chopped it all off into a bob too. My kindergarten students then complained, especially the girls.

Kindergarten El Avila

Before that time, I also chopped it off in 1988. I wish I had a photo of that to show you because… the 80s!!!! And before that, this. I guess this was the first time I had short hair in my life, in 1976, when I was 4 years old.

Polin 1976

It’s just hair, it will grow back. In the mean time I continue to do a double take every time I catch myself in the mirror… but I am enjoying the bounciness of it, and tomorrow when blow drying takes at least half the time, I’m sure I’ll be happy too.

What do you think? Would you donate your hair to the kiddos?

2 responses to “Chop-Chop

  1. That’s really a great idea!!! I chopped it all off in March and am now in the process of growing it back again.
    I can never decide and stick to one style for long. *sigh*
    I guess I could have donated them as well, I just didn’t think of it to be honest. And I don’t know of an organization here in Germany. But I guess I could have found one.
    So if I am ever chopping them off again I will donate them as well. Right now, all I want for them is to be LONG again.

    You look great with the short hair!!

Leave a Reply

