Early Christmas

Next weekend, Mike, the boys and I will be loading up the car and heading down, driving, to Miami. Yeah, that will be an interesting road trip; for sure, a very long one. We have one planned stop, to sleep, in Georgia, but the rest is go, go, go. Hopefully, the weather will cooperate.

Since we are driving down to Miami for Christmas, we decided to do our Christmas here early, and give each other our gifts, which this year were quite big  and would take up precious cargo space in the car. It just made sense to give each other the gifts and leave them here, and not drag them down to Miami to have to bring them back up again.

We had bought the gifts some weeks back, and were waiting for a closer to Christmas day to celebrate it. Since we are leaving next weekend at the crack at dawn, this weekend was it, it was gift day for us.

Here’s Mike with his gift to me, and me with my gift to Mike.

IMG_5147 IMG_5148

And this is Mike wearing his gift (a strapping cashmere herringbone gray overcoat), and me holding mine (a Kitchen Aid mixer) :)

IMG_5149 IMG_5158

We made curry chicken with rice and steamed broccoli for late-lunch and enjoyed it listening to Christmas music.

IMG_5163 IMG_5164

It was yummy. I hadn’t made curry chicken in a while and I think Mike was missing it, because he was the one who suggested it. And then, because I couldn’t wait to use my gift, I whipped up a key lime pie to have for dessert

IMG_5154IMG_5166

The pie turned out beautiful and delicious. The new mixer worked like a charm. I have a black&decker hand-held which has taken me this far, no complaints. But this new mixer is great, it lets me whip white eggs to peaks while I clean up the kitchen and do dishes, all at the same time. Multitasking! I love it!

I think this gift will help me get into baking more again. I miss baking, it’s therapeutic for me. For some reason, I tend to think “when everything else fails, bake!” But then there’s the goods to be consumed… which is why I think I have stopped baking, I definitely don’t need the extra calories. So next time you’re in the neighborhood, do me a favor will you, come eat some cake, cookies, or pie, because I’ll have some to share :)

Merry Christmas!

2 responses to “Early Christmas

  1. We got a Kitchen Aid last Christmas. M’s parents and my Dad paid a bit and we paid the rest. It was reduced and came with a second bowl, two lids and three different vegetable slicers.
    I LOVE IT!
    It makes baking so much easier.

Leave a Reply

